Hindu Mehndi – my first Asian Wedding!

Just a very quick post whilst taking a lunch break today – I couldn’t help myself out of total amazement and excitement of Shilpa’s Mehndi and pre-Mehndi ceremonies yesterday in Leicester. I arrived before the guests to find, outside in the backyard of Shilpa’s parents they had rigged up a bit of a tarpaulin to protect themselves from the drizzle and were an hour into making what would be a stunning, tongue tantalizing, buck wheat dessert. Apparently, this takes about 1.5 hour to cook, comprising of sugar, ghee butter (from very rich purified milk), then by adding stunning ingredients like almonds, sultanas, cinniman etc. It was so very morish.

Enjoy a few images below – much more to come. Getting myself off to bed in about an hour as I will be up at 5.30am tomorrow to get myself over to the Temple for 7.30am tomorrow for the wedding!

 

Leave a Reply

